top of page

Arie De Jong

Director & Coordinator of Volunteer Services

Experienced conservationist, avid volunteer; skilled both in and out of the field.


Lee J. Burton

Secretary to the Board
Director of Education

An entrepreneur and avid naturalist, Lee works closely with the Aquatic Biosphere Project on project management & development, education outreach, community engagement, and as chief water-bug collector.


Steve Hull

Board Treasurer

Steven Hull, CPA, CMA has extensive experience in finance, business development and charity organisations.


David Contardi

Director At Large

On the board since 2020, David is an energetic business professional with an extensive and diverse background in the areas of business management, business development, and project development and implementation.


Paula Polman

Board Chair

Board Chair and Founder of the Aquarium Society of Alberta, entrepreneur currently in business support services, long history of involvement in non-profits and charities. B.Sc. in Microbiology & Biochemistry.


David Evans

Director of Conservation

David is a Terrestrial Field Coordinator with the Alberta Biodiversity Monitoring Institute responsible for conducting biodiversity monitoring across the Province of Alberta.


Ross Shaw

Board Vice Chair

Dr. Ross Shaw is an Assistant Professor at MacEwan University in Biological Sciences. His research interests are captive coral health and fish diseases prevalent in aquaculture systems.

Abstract Iceberg

Our Team Members

Meet the Board of Directors

bottom of page